Monday Again #writingmotivation


Once again, that dreaded day of the week has returned to loom over us and remind us that we have to return to work.

It has been a nice, quiet, weekend overall.  I managed to get some work done on the next of my Angelic series of pictures.  This one is called Watchful and it is an anthro cougar checking out some tracks left in the dirt and paying close attention to what is around him.  It was well received as a sketch on FurAffinity.net and Deviant Art.  The traditional color wasn’t well liked, but then again, the scanner ate the beautiful color.  There will be plenty of color in the digital coloring, but it will take some time to carry out.

When they say the devil is in the details, they aren’t kidding.  Shading, texturing, and trying to breathe life into any digital picture is not easy to do for even the most talented of artists out there.  I’m going to be doing a lot of detail work on the wings; especially on the long flight feathers.  Then, of course, there is the fur and hair which will be a huge pain in the rump on a good day.

But, I love being creative and this is one of my creations.  To me, it screams, along with all my other unfinished projects, to be completed and given vibrancy of any sort.  My boss thinks I need to be checked for ADD or the like; which may be the case if you ever saw my stack of unfinished sketches and stories.

Which brings me to the Twitter hash tag in the title.  I have joined a group via a friend and NaNo ML that concerns writing and motivating each other to reach for those goals.  We compete against ourselves and the evil inner-critic to meet these goals we set.

My goals will be:

1) Start edits on Society of Night and Lies draft 3.

2) Complete the short story Test of Ascension.

3) Transcribe chapter 1 and start transcription of chapter 2 of Black Friday2 (working title until a better one is thought of)

4) Finish character sketches of the main cast of Society of Night and Lies. (written and drawn)

It won’t be easy reaching these goals through the month of March, but I will be giving it the best attempt I can muster.  between work and family, there isn’t a whole lot of time for much.  Working on Black Friday2 will be the most difficult since I can only write it at work and my time to write there has been woefully shortened.  When I went in at noon, I’d have a few hours, now I’m lucky to have a few minutes with my clock in time at nine in the morning.  My job, mostly the people I work with, inspired and motivated this series and being near these people just gets the flow going for this particular story.  I’ll just have to see how my long break from it will do and transcribing it here at home to re-acquaint myself with the plot and characters.

This challenge will end my hiatus from writing, but it won’t end my time working on my art.  Time will just have to be juggled to fit everything in without neglecting the family.  I should be posting more, I know, and I hope to get myself into the habit again.  Even if this means getting Dave to kick me off Facebook or whatever I’m doing to write a blog post to keep everyone posted.

Good luck to those who join #writingmotivation.

