Slow Day


I’ve made it to another post according to my weekly plan.  It is Saturday and I used to post about the first novel I started, Way of the Comet.  Not only is this one the first one I had ever started, but it has taken the longest to write.  It was started about 15 years ago, before I found the net, when all I had was pen and paper, and rickety old typewriter my idiot ex thought would be good enough for me to use.  (it was too rusted for my poor, pain filled hands at the time to punch the keys hard enough to use)

While I do remember bits of the original beginning, I took another route but kept the same theme and ideas with a younger heroine.  It could be a good young adult novel, when, or if, I ever complete.  Fifteen years and I have only gotten as far as chapter ten.  Talk about slow progress.  >.<

I’ve complained in the past that it doesn’t seem to fit what I want any more and re-write could improve it.  Re-writing could do the trick since I am stuck yet again.  Since Way of the Comet is coming along so slowly, I won’t talk about it too much until I do work on it again.  Who knows when that will be.

Instead, I’ll talk about other things.

In my book, The Handbook to Novel Writing, I read that authors aren’t just people who love to write, but they also are voracious readers.  In all honesty, that handbook was the first book I’ve read in a couple of years.  Sad, I know, but there is a good excuse.  Most of the book I had were left behind when I moved back to Oklahoma to make room for clothing and other important items and to cut down on weight.  Dave’s collection is good, but not much I’m interested in.

Which brings me to the subject what books capture your interest.

Have you ever had a book that so captured your imagination that even glancing at the cover to admire the art work, you simply had to pick it up and read it?  I had such a book.  It was Anne McCaffrey’s The Rowan, the first in her series about Rowan and her family as they worked to help the human race expand across the galaxy and keep them safe from aliens such as the hive.  I owned the first three of this series and borrowed the rest from friends or the library.  Each was a joy to read, but none could keep me turning pages over and over like the first one.

Another such book, though without such a powerful pull, is Tailchaser’s Song by Poul Anderson.  It is a story about a normal cat who finds himself being drawn across the land to where a feline deity hiding underground is capturing cats to feed and keep his beast fed and warm until it is ready to be turned loose on the world and enslave not just feline-kind, but mankind as well.  It is simply a captivating story which I thought wasn’t going to be all that good at first, but it sucked me in and held me to the last page.

Then of course, one of new, current, favorites, The Catswold Portal.  Yes, I know, another book centering around cats.  Not necessarily.  This book is about a woman who has the ability to shift from human to cat at will, like others of her people, as the tries to find more about herself and save her people.  Catswold is a world far below the surface of the earth and is filled with magic of sorts.  Places on the surface have decorated doors called portals which most people think are nothing special except for the artistry and craftsmanship.  When the heroine finds herself on the surface escaping from certain enslavement or worse, she meets a man who was married to a woman she had known as child and was raised with until she was stolen away one day.  The woman never stopped looking for her friend until the day she died and left hints and notes for her husband to find.  Neither knows of their common link until conversation and friendship blossoms and they discover more and more of each other.  It has just enough romance to keep you wondering with undertones of someone seeking to find the answers to their own past.  There’s adventure and some action to spice things up while you try to figure out how they are linked and why.  I suggest this one to anyone who likes a good fantasy novel.

Along with those, I had all but two of Jean M. Auel’s Clan of the Cave Bear series.  I could read these over and over and never grow tired of her extensive descriptions of the ancient world and how things were the way they were from the extensive research she had done out in the field.  Sure, all the explaining slowed down the story, but it gave her world so much more realism and depth that you could forgive that just to find out how Ayla survives and finds her way to the end of each book.  Jean M. Auel is definitely one of my inspirations to keep trying to write.

I’ll have each of these books back in my personal library again.  This coming up weekend, I intend to purchase one or two to replace what I had lost.  For now, I have Clare Bell’s Ratha Series and most of the Elf Quest short story compilations.  These few are just a small part of what I had.

There are e-book copies available when ever I want them, but I prefer to have my dead tree.  It just doesn’t feel right holding my phone or staring hard at my monitor just to read a good book.  I’d rather curl up on the couch or in bed and read until I have to move.

