Monday Already? #writemotivation


Once again, we have come full circle to Monday.  Where did the week go?  Better yet, where did the weekend go?  It seemed like I was enjoying Saturday so much with my trip to Barns & Noble and sinking myself into the first of my new books, The Plot Whisperer: Secrets of Story Structure Any Writer Can Master.

I swear Sunday slipped by before I could even blink.  So totally not fair, I tell you.

Oh well, can’t fret over that now.  We have to face the new week.  Right?  Right.

In yesterday’s post, I went over the progress of my goals for April.  So far, only two have been ticked off; Starting Edits on Black Friday (book 1) and completing first round edits of Test of Ascension.  Not too bad, but there is still a lot left to do for this month.

1) Write a new short story for my erotica compilation.

This one has to be revised.  I have it started, but trying to complete edits has filled more time than actual writing.  I’ll be trying to get more done before this weekend, but I doubt I’ll see a finished first draft this month.

2) Complete draft thee edits on Society of Night and Lies.

I’m slogging through the section I am missing the grammar edits from using only the grammar checker for the gross problems and reading slowly to find others the checker would miss.  This means I am also doing some revisions at this time, too.  It can get done sometime during this week, if not during the weekend.

3) Finish first round of edits on Test of Ascension.

This one is done.  It prompted last night’s post.  As I neared the end, I did a few more revisions to smooth it out some and clear up some of what was happening at the climax. I don’t mean the climax of the big sex scene, either.

4) Write character sketches (written and drawn) of the supporting characters in Society of Night and Lies.

I haven’t written any more notes on these yet.  There’s still four more needing work, but I should be able to finish them.  Thankfully, this isn’t an important goal.  It’s just something to help me visualize my characters in SoNL.  This one doesn’t have to be done, but it would be nice if I did complete it.

5) Start revisions on Black Friday (book 1)

This one has been started.  I got as far as chapter three, I think, with the grammar checker.  23 more chapters to go before it’ll be done with round 1 of revisions.

To sum up: Two are completed. (In the green)  One is being revised since there is no way to complete it this month. (hence the orange color)  One doesn’t have to be completed.  (purple color)  One is part way but being worked on now.  (warning yellow)

