Farewell to a Great Author


Today, the world says farewell to possibly one of the best writer’s known to modern man.  His talents have envisioned strange new worlds and kept many on the edge of their seats.  In his 91 years, this man has achieved what many of us still dream of doing.

Raymond Douglas Bradbury, author of the Martian Chronicles, Fahrenheit 451, and countless other books passed away yesterday after battling a lengthy illness.

For me, this came as a shock.  I had known he was old, but never thought he had reached his 90th decade.  He always seemed so much younger.  At the most, I thought that Mr. Bradbury was in his mid to late 70s, maybe early 80s at the oldest, but never in my dreams reaching 90 and over.

In my youth, I had read his Martian Chronicles, and several of his short stories.  Some of them, I didn’t realize were his until much later.  He had a way of making a world come alive within your mind so that it was almost as real as the world we live in.

While I cannot credit him as the one who sparked my writing muse into being, I can say he had a good influence in my art as well as some of what I’ve come up with in my own stories.  Don’t bother trying to find his influences, he is among a large mix of noteworthy authors.  He is the one who got me addicted to the fantasy and sci-fi genres before I realized that I was full of creativity and imagination to make worlds of my own.

Growing up, I had watched the re-runs of Ray Bradbury’s Theater, and other, newer shows, and of course, many of his movies.  I am sad to say the shows and movies didn’t do his writing justice, but it is extremely difficult to put the same spin on visuals to his worlds.  But, each one held me captive for the duration.  Each one showed me that anyone who had the will could make their ideas become something unique and wonderful to share with the world.

As much as I don’t like thrillers and suspense books and movies, I will always read one of Ray Bradbury’s and never think twice about it.

Rest in piece, o great writer.  Your memory will live on the hallowed shelves of our memories and homes.

