Goal Check Anonymous #writemotivation


Hard to believe we’ve survived the first week of July without melting from the heat.  (sits in front of fan and sips from a cold glass of tea)  Whew!  Did it get hot, too.  We exceeded 105 degrees at least twice before the weekend.

While I have been tweaking and reloading my desktop, I haven’t done a whole lot in my writing.  To be honest, I’ve been having a hard time with the heat personally; not cooling off and feeling more drained than usual after a few brief minutes outside.  When it gets hot like that, I can barely function so everything suffers.

Thankfully, my son and I had a date to go swimming with my mom Saturday and it was a blast.  With all the kids there, he was very well behaved and responded magnificently after one tiny incident where he was annoying another little girl who took his fancy.  She was cute so i couldn’t blame him but he has personal space issues; meaning he wants to be too close all the time and he was following her which was creeping her out a bit.  Other than that, he had fun learning to swim and being chased about by the Mommy-gator ™ in the shallow end.   Ha-ha!

Of course, after that much exercise, went to Andolini’s for what is the best Italian food in the county.  All you can pizza, salad, and pasta to fill energized bodies made the end of a wonderful day.

But, that’s not what you’re here to read about.  Far from it, but no one can blame me for wanting to tell the world about the progress of a child with problems.

The first goal check of the month is actually coming along well considering the delays.  For this, I am proud, even though I am behind by a little bit.

1) Edit/Revise the prologue and first five chapters of Black Friday.

I haven’t started on this one, yet.  Mostly because the file hasn’t been accessible until just recently.  After reading so much of Anne McCaffrey in the last month, I’ve a few ideas to help improve on it and make the story flow better.

2) Finish transcribing Black Friday 2 and write at least one more chapter.

This one has seen progress!  I’ve transcribed a chapter after unburying the notebook this week.  It was a short chapter, but a chapter none the less.  While I was looking through to see how much was needed to be done, I decided to adjust the chapters a bit.  Where I had stopped with the current chapter seemed like a good point to change scenes for the next then renumbered the rest.  So, instead of five chapters hand written, there’s six.

3) Start fifth round of edits/revisions on Society of Night and Lies.

This one, like the first goal, has only recently been accessed, so there hasn’t been anything done, yet.  But, there soon will be with suggestions from the critique group to help move things along and make things more clear.  Especially in the first chapter.

4) Read. Doesn’t matter what book I read. Just read to relearn the styles of my favorite authors.

Of course I’ve been progressing with this goal.  i haven’t read as much as what I did recently, but I’ll be catching up soon enough.  Things have been hectic with trying to get my computer working again.  I’ve finished the Dragonrider series (all books that I have) and the Tower and Hive series from Anne McCaffrey.  I’ve started on Piers Anthony next with his Blue Adept series.  I had forgotten how much he tends to ramble in this series, but I can’t help but to love it.  The character, Stile has these tangents he goes off on that do pertain to the subject at hand, but seem so random that it makes the flow feel awkward, but so much fun once you get the full picture.  Split Infinity is perhaps one of my favorite novels of Mr Anthony’s, but his Xanth series will always be my absolute favorite of his books.

So, not a bad start to this month.  Believe it or not, I’m posting more often with more than just group related things.  I hope everyone has enjoyed the excerpts I post on Sundays.  Please, do tell me what you think of them or anything else you find in my posts.

2 thoughts on “Goal Check Anonymous #writemotivation

Comments are closed.