Monday Report #writemotivation


It has been a damp week, but the rain has made some pleasant temperatures for wandering about town.  I just wish I had the cooler weather Thursday when I took Hylie, our newest addition to the vet to be spayed and get her shots.  Let’s just say that it was so hot and humid out that when I finally got back to work, my face was beet red and I felt like I had run a marathon.

I must have looked it, too, because Mary, the oldest of the techs, was worried until I could finally cool off and relax.  We all agreed I was close to heat exhaustion and lucky to have kept a cold drink handy during all that running about town.  Thankfully, that was only one day, all the rest have been comfortable.

Now, if anyone remembers, a couple of weeks ago I was sent to the ER after going to the clinic about a three day migraine.  It was the migraine that made my blood pressure sky rocket to near stroke limit and I was just very icky and nauseous because of the pain.  The doc and the nurses looked at me and wondered how I could not have any other problems with my BP so high.  Short answer, I am just wired weird.

Anyway… my follow up was this morning and all is good.  Blood pressure was 120/84 which is excellent for me.  The migraines are still coming and going more often and painful than in years past.  So, I have a new prescription to go with my regular stuff.  I can live with that.  Next month (earliest appointment available believe it or not), I’ll be having my physical and be the perfect time to go over the blood work I’ll be have done tomorrow.

Maybe I get a few more things taken care of after that and figure a way to get this weight off my midsection.   As it is now, I look like I’m pregnant and feel like it sometimes.  My weight is the biggest thing right now I need to get under control.

But, to make for a nice topper for today, I stopped by the bank to inquire what all I would need to do and set up to start looking at buying a house.  I’m tired of living in an apartment.  Better yet, tired of living in places I cannot make substantial changes to fit my personality and needs.  I don’t have any place in mind, yet.  Just starting to put out the idea and see what needs to be done so we can be ready for the big step.  This means I’ll probably be asking my dad for some help since he’s done this a few times.

My dad has bought, remodeled, and flipped several houses over the last 15 or 20 years.  If anyone would know, he would and help us to find the right place that doesn’t require a lot of work, but still gives us something to cut our teeth on.  And, if the Universe decides we deserve it, and money starts coming in hand over fist, we can turn it around faster until we are in the house of our dreams.

This means we’ll have to shift things around a little bit as far as finances and I need to rebuild my credit rating.  Part one is nearly done.  The next step will come around time for tax refund which will give us a jump forward.  That all depends on how things look around then, too.

On to the goals!

1. Work on chapters 1 through 3 of Society of Night and Lies. Make them shine with more show and a bit less tell.

I have done some work on this one.  Mostly trying to add in some atmosphere of the scenes.  I did make those corrections, Michelle!  They do make the flow smoother and less choppy.  Decreased the word count, but that’ll be replaced later as other tidbits are worked in and scenes redone.

2. If there’s time, write two more chapters to Black Friday 2.

I doubt there will be time, but, no, I haven’t written anything more on this one.  I may work on it a little during this week and over the weekend.

3. Read. Doesn’t matter which author or genre, just read.

Of course this one will always be accomplished.  I finally finished Phaze Doubt and it wasn’t as good as what I would have liked, but it was worth the read.  It tied up the loose ends of the whole series.  I’ve started reading Michelle Pierce’s novel, Sorcerer’s Blade.  So far, I am liking it.  I just wish I had more time to read it besides what I do on my lunch break and evenings at home.  Michelle Pierce is awesome and a wonderful person to know.  I look forward to the meet ups we have for our Nano group and in general.

That’s all for me.  How about y’all?  Those goals getting you down or revved up?

