Ganache

a-to-z-letters-gSince I first heard of this sauce, I was in love with it.  For years, I’ve had ganache and never even realized it.  The main reason was because I didn’t leave my comfort zone at all before watching Food.com.  If you haven’t noticed, every recipe has come from this particular site.  I even have my favorite chefs, too.  But, this theme isn’t about them, but about the food and recipes to go with each.

I’ll quote directly from Wikipedia what ganache is exactly.  Because if I did it, I’d be spending the  last of my money trying to buy some.  It is just that good and, yes, I am a huge chocoholic.  Not to mention the puddle of drool drowning my keyboard.

Ganache is normally made by heating cream, then pouring it over chopped dark semi-sweet chocolate. The mixture is stirred or blended until smooth, with liqueurs or extracts added if desired.

Depending on the kind of chocolate used, for what purpose the ganache is intended, and the temperature at which it will be served, the ratio of chocolate to cream is varied to obtain the desired consistency. Typically, two parts chocolate to one part cream are used for filling cakes or as a base for making chocolate truffles, while one to one is commonly used as a glaze. Cooled ganache can be whipped to increase volume and spread to cover a cake. However, if left to cool too much it can become too thick and unspreadable.

See what I mean?  I’d garble this up to no end if I tried.  Anyway, onto the best part…

A2Z-2013-BANNER-900_zps1a85732a

The recipe:

Ingredients

Ganache:

8 ounces good dark chocolate, chopped (not below 60 percent cocoa, recommended: Valrhona)
8 ounces heavy cream, scalded

Directions

Completely melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Add the cream to a medium bowl and pour in the chocolate. Whisk the mixture very slowly creating a shiny, elastic emulsion.

Use for dipping cupcakes into the ganache for a quick frosting or pipe it into candy shells to make instant chocolates!

Notes
This recipe was provided by professional chefs and has been scaled down from a bulk recipe provided by a restaurant. The Food Network Kitchens chefs have not tested this recipe, in the proportions indicated, and therefore, we cannot make any representation as to the results.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ganache-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

Check out others in the blog hop at http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/2012-to-z-challenge-sign-up-list.html

2 thoughts on “G is for Ganache #atozchallenge

Comments are closed.