Vinthaleaux

a-to-z-letters-vSo close to the end of the month!  My how the time has flown while researching recipes to match each letter.  I have to say, there have been some interesting ones so far and it is becoming increasingly difficult to find something for each.  This one has been a stretch but well worth it.

Today’s recipe is one I have known about for a while.  A co-worker told me about it several years ago and how there are two main variations.  The one known as Vindaloo is the Anglicized version of the ancient dish.  This one is the closest to the original.  Only the name has been changed to make it sound more ‘posh’ back into the 1800s when the British were in control of India.

For the most part, the dish is named after the spices used to season it.  Or so I thought.  It is actually an Indian curry dish popular in the Goa region.  The name comes from Portuguese (strangely enough).  It tends to be very spicy but it isn’t the spiciest coming from India.  I’m almost afraid to ask what could be spicier. /shudder

I have tried this dish.  The version my co-worker let me sample which was enough to sear my taste buds but very good and at a local place where the cooks were happy to tone down the fire a little for me.  Still got the chili pepper kick, but it didn’t knock me onto the floor with it.  I do prefer mutton to the pork variation.  It carries the spices better.

On to the recipe!

A2Z-2013-BANNER-900_zps1a85732a

Ingredients:

500 g mutton, cut into small pieces

1 tbsp ghee, butter or mustard oil

1 large onion, sliced

4 garlic cloves, chopped

2 tsp ground cumin seeds

1 tsp ground mustard seeds

1/2 tsp hot chili powder

200 ml meat stock

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp brown sugar

2 dessert spoons vinegar

3/4 tsp ground turmeric

Directions

Heat the ghee, butter or mustard oil in a pan. Add the onion and fry for about 5 minutes, or until golden brown. Add spices, garlic and fry for 2 minutes then add the mutton and fry until browned all over. Pour in the stock then stir in the salt and sugar. Bring to a boil, cover the pan and cook for 25 minutes, or until the mutton is tender. Just before serving add the vinegar. Serve hot, accompanied by rice.

Read more at Celtnet: http://www.celtnet.org.uk/recipes/miscellaneous/fetch-recipe.php?rid=misc-vinthaleaux
Copyright © celtnet

Check out others in the A to Z Challenge at http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/2012-to-z-challenge-sign-up-list.html.

