Book Review – “The Vu”


Normally, when I review anything, it’s about a restaurant I found that brings new taste sensations worthy of letting the world know.  Reviews on movies, and new shows, no one knows what I think, and books… people are even more lost on my opinions unless they ask me directly for my thoughts on something from one of my favorite authors.  But, I am known for throwing a surprise out there for everyone to see.  My A to Z Challenge is proof enough of that and the response was more than I expected for it.

But, this isn’t about a challenge or a movie, or a new place to enjoy good food.

This is about a book that blew me away.  The thing here is, the book isn’t from one of the old authors who have been around for 30 years or so.  This author is new on the scene and the book, in my opinion, is a great debut for her.

Book Name: The Vu

Length: 264 pages 18 chapters with prologue and epilogue

Author: Hanna Gordon

Amazon blurb:

Suffering from post traumatic amnesia, Sabella Hall begins to remember her abusive father and discovers an amazing ability. She is sought out by the leader of The Vu, a clan of those with gifts such as hers. As she journeys through using her gift, finding new love, experiencing betrayal, and remembering her past, she faces off against a shocking adversary.

the-vu-amz
Click on the picture to go to the Amazon page.

When asked to describe the plot of any book, I tend to fumble, even when they are crisp and clear as the paper they are written on.  But, in this one, the plot sings.  It’s about a girl, freshly graduated from college that discovers she’s not a normal person.  She has a special gift and she is destined to do something big.  Her only problem is, she doesn’t remember her early childhood.  All she knows is that she was adopted and raised in a loving family along with an adopted brother.  Things become clear, but problems also arise as her memories return and a shadowy figure starts to follow her.

The heroine, Sabella, is a well rounded character who has lived the life of luxury but has been taught that not everything comes easily.  She’s tough, brave, emotional, with a sweet nature that knows when not to be so sweet and when to turn the Oklahoma charm on.  If she were a real person, I would probably get along with her and cheer her on at any event she decided to compete in.

Did I mention this story takes place in and around Tulsa, OK?  Specifically downtown Tulsa?  No?  Well, believe it or not, it does, and Hanna has captured the essence of the city, though not the full character that has become a part of my own history.  She gives you just enough that you can pinpoint where Sabella is during her escapes when you’re given the description of the area.  Only another Tulsan could spot it and smile.  But, you can feel the tall buildings and almost smell the different delis and restaurants, coffee houses and bars.

The Vu, the people like Sabella who each have a special gift like speed, healing, shield, fire, or others, are a mystery from the very start.  You’re never sure if Sabella even understands as the story progresses.  All we are sure of is that they are guardians that watch over regular people, and yet, every bit as much like we are with their own fears, foibles, and aspirations.

Among the Vu, she finds a love interest, Jonathan.  He is the clichéd drop dead handsome guy with blonde hair and blue eyes.  He’s protective of Sabella, and yet, he isn’t quite the typical hunk.  He’s got some smarts about him, but we don’t get to see him shine enough.  He’s skilled and has his own past with the former leader to contend with.  Things start to heat up once he discovers who the Shadowy figure is that has been following Sabella.

Just to give a little twist, another love interest, Chad, is introduced.  More could have been played on the relationships between Jonathan, Chad, and Sabella, or even the animosity that Michelle has toward Sabella.  I don’t think it could have made the story more interesting, but it could have added to the spice mix that was already there and heating up.

Overall, my opinion on The Vu is good.  I loved it and the play between the characters.  The pacing got up to speed after the first chapter where you got to meet Sabella.  From then on, the pacing is quick, but not so fast you lose track of everything.  All the characters are engaging and you really want to see the bad guy get it in the end one way or another.  It kept wanting more.  It took effort to put the book down to do anything though it didn’t nag at the back of mind until I picked it back up.  It did keep me wondering enough to want to come back as soon as I could.

On a scale of 1 to 5, I give this book a 4.  The only reason for that is because it could have had more going on between the characters.  It’ll grab you by the ears and suck you in.

5 thoughts on “Book Review – “The Vu”

    1. Be more than happy to give your book a review. I just ordered it from Amazon. I’ll be sure to send a comment once I’ve finished reading and composed the review on the blog and on Amazon.

  1. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very great post.

    1. My writing changes depending on what I’m writing about, but I am glad you enjoyed this post. I hope it inspires you to read the book and continue on with your own efforts.

Comments are closed.