#writemotivation Week 3 Update


This is how I felt when I found out the hearing was rescheduled /after/ it was supposed to be done today.
This is how I felt when I found out the hearing was rescheduled /after/ it was supposed to be done today.

Uhg!  As if trying to study for a third try at the state insurance license exam wasn’t enough, I had to worry about my appeal hearing for my unemployment.  Some may recall me mentioning that my claim was denied because they think I was fired due to not taking a break or something along that line.

That is untrue.  I was written up for not (or better yet) forgetting to put product back into inventory after a 12 hour shift.  Something the night crew consistently leaves for the day shift to do when they have overstock or unfinished pallets at the end of their shifts.  Everyone knows this and yet, the wrong people get in trouble for it at Wal-Mart.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand.

I was supposed to have the appeal hearing today via phone.  I have worried myself sick about this since last week.  Studying was difficult because of the worry and my few distractions, such as the Hangout on G+ Thursday, were brief reprieves from the worry.  I get up early so I’m alert and focused, register an hour early and wait for the hearing time to arrive.

Hearing time comes and goes, no call or anything stating otherwise in email.  Next logical step, I call them and ask a few questions.

What I find out is the hearing was rescheduled on the 18th.  A notice was sent out, but it has not arrived in my box, yet.  USPS is either using the most idiotic person on schedule to deliver this notice or they are sitting on it and wondering when a good time would be to deliver it.  USPS is already on my s**t list now for other things, but that’s a different post for a different blog.

I now have until this Thursday to worry about the hearing.  This won’t make concentrating on my exam tomorrow easy but I have to focus and at least pass the licensing and rules for the state section.  I need to pass both, but the rules, regs, and statutes are the most important part and the rest can be learned on the job.

Hope, pray or do whatever to help me pass this test, please.  This agency really wants me bad to put this much effort and time for one new agent.

On to the goals:

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/
Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

1) Set SoNL aside until feedback from critiques and betas are in on the first half of the novel

This one is done though I can’t wait to read the feedback.

2) Focus on Black Friday 2. Get at least two chapters written.

Nothing, yet, but there is still this week to go.  We’ll see what the month wrap up brings.

3) Keep up the job search. Four interviews minimum for the month of June

I have the job, just working on the exam

4) Exercise twice a week. (I mean it this time!)

I did exercise twice a week.  Definitely did it twice last week.

While I can scratch off number four, I won’t until wrap up.  At least it is in the green.

4 thoughts on “#writemotivation Week 3 Update

  1. Oh hon, I’m thinking of you. Hope you’re doing ok and passed the exam and that the hearing goes well.
    The hangout was so much fun
    Here’s to July being awesome

Comments are closed.